The Department of Energy’s (DOE) Building Technologies Office (BTO) awarded top honors to students from four universities during the annual JUMP into STEM final competition hosted virtually by Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) on January 27-28. The winning teams were part of the largest competition to date, with 84 ideas submitted from 251 students at 27 different schools from across the country. Winning students were offered paid summer internships at a national laboratory.

Four winning teams were announced by Dr. Fredericka Brown, a AAAS Science and Technology Policy Fellow in the Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Science, Technology and Policy Program:

  • University of Tennessee, Knoxville’s Alexandra Kahl and Kyra Owensby, “Backup Power in the Wake of Disaster​”
  • Oklahoma State University’s Alka Khadka and Grant Walker, “R3ER Shelter Design: Cowboy Covers”
  • University of Utah’s Samantha Eddy, Xiang Huo, Xinyan Liu, and Xinyang Rui, “Advancing Resilient Communities in Remote Area​”
  • Embry-Riddle’s Aeronautical University’s Haley Matthews and Aryanna Sanchez, “Eagles for Energy”